March III: The Ghost Bride

Yesterday, I surprised myself by finishing yet another book which brings the count to country no 23:

  • Malaysia: Yangsze Choo – The Ghost Bride.
the bride

A real bride in the palace of Eggenhof, Graz, Austria.

It was a reread, and since I quite often read books at least a second time if they were any good this is a good sign for this work. I had even completely forgotten how it ended!

the hens

and some rather curious peahens

Chinese culture is something I’ve been interested in for a long time, but I’d never heard of the custom of having a ghost marriage before. Apparently, this is still practised. While I don’t believe in an afterlife, I liked the way the book took me on a journey to the afterworld with its demons, dragons and ghosts. What I didn’t fancy that much was the way the female lead behaved towards the man she wanted to marry. On top of that, keeping track of all the concubines and family relationships was just impossible (but nothing compared to the Dream of the Red Chamber).

All in all: culturally exciting, but a mildy convoluted plot with a for me unsatisfying ending.

One thought on “March III: The Ghost Bride

  1. Pingback: The Palace of Eggenberg – Gardens | Spocki's World

Leave a Reply

