Half Moon Island

The weather was fantastic, the water clear and absolutely calm, so I went kayaking! I didn’t take a camera, but there are going to be photos on the husband’s blog: http://chinese-poems.com/blog/. It was just marvellous to spend more than two hours so close to bits of ice (smallish and biggish) in the water, with Chinstraps and Gentoos porpoising by. Because I’m a lazy sod who doesn’t exercise, I also had the muscle pain of my life and could not lift the glass with orange juice for breakfast the next morning.

The Chinstrap colony on Half Moon Island is like so many others part of www.penguinwatch.org and http://www.penguinlifelines.org/. I was a bit sad that I didn’t see it, but after the kayaking I was exhausted, even missed going swimming in the dry suit. Yet, it was breathtaking and something I would really like to do again some day.kayaking

One thought on “Half Moon Island

Leave a Reply

